Session 6


       Ten Commandments; the Beatitudes;  Commandments of the Church


Ten Commandments

  1. I am the LORD your God. You shall worship the Lord your God and Him only shall you serve.
  2. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.
  3. Remember to keep holy the Sabbath day.
  4. Honour your father and your mother.
  5. You shall not kill.
  6. You shall not commit adultery.
  7. You shall not steal.
  8. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbour.
  9. You shall not covet your neighbour's wife.
  10. You shall not covet your neighbour's goods.

Six Commandments of the Church

  1. To keep the Sundays and Holy Days of Obligation holy by hearing Mass and resting from servile works.
  2. To keep the days of Fasting and Abstinence appointed by the Church.
    (Ash Wednesday, Good Friday)
  3. To go to confession when we are conscious of having sinned gravely.
  4. To receive the Eucharist at least once a year at Easter or thereabouts.
  5. To contribute to the support of our pastors.
  6. Not to marry within certain degrees of kinship without a dispensation




"Blessed are the poor in spirit,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are they who mourn,
for they shall be comforted.

Blessed are the meek,
for they shall inherit the earth.

Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
for they shall be satisfied.

Blessed are the merciful,
for they shall obtain mercy.

Blessed are the pure of heart,
for they shall see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers,
for they shall be called children of God.

Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven."


Matt. 5:2-10